Trip to India?

4 Nov

I am so so so so happy that many of you are inspired by this documentary and I completely agree that we should help. But, going we will make more of a difference if we go there instead of sending money. So, Anyone in my classes  interested in planning a school trip, there will be a meeting after school on Wednesday 11/10 after school in my room. This is only open to my students in grade 10.

Things to bring with you:

  • Do some reserach: how much to things cost, websites, other schools who have done this.
  • Post any information in this comments section for me, or interested students to look at
  • Think of what you want to do there, how we can be effective and actually make a difference there.
  • Brainstorm how we can raise money, criteria for coming, etc
  • Think of how we can get this trip approved by the school and BPS.

Get your passports ready!!!

PLEASE DO NOT EMAIL ANY ONE BEFORE SPEAKING/SHARING THE INFORMATION WITH ME.

CHECK THIS OUT: here are some updates about the Bitb Children. CLICK HERE.

16 Responses to “Trip to India?”

  1. msgentile November 4, 2010 at 11:49 am #

    I have contacted this organization…check it out.

    http://www.theinsideandout.com/index.html

  2. Bridget Figueroa November 4, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

    Hi, I meant to mention this in class but I forgot..
    So my stepsister is on the alumni board for Quest Adventures and she recently asked me if any of my classes would want to travel to another country. I thought that if we want to do this, Quest would be the perfect organization to contact.
    Here is the website:
    http://www.questadventuresinc.org/index.html
    Check it out !
    (:

    • msgentile November 4, 2010 at 6:48 pm #

      This is AMAZING! So, we can get grant money to go? Or they can help us fundraise? Talk to your sister and I am going to email the woman.

  3. manouska November 4, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    apparently you have to have a visa to go to india ? o_O

    • msgentile November 4, 2010 at 6:49 pm #

      If we go through an organization, we should be able to get a travel Visa or a student Visa.

      But, good to know!

  4. agron shahaj November 4, 2010 at 5:05 pm #

    check this one out
    http://www.experiencegla.com/destinations/asia/india/teen-program-india-overview/

  5. akua November 4, 2010 at 5:23 pm #


    ms.gentile this is avijit noooowwww omgggg n i found him on facebook i inboxed him i’ll see if he replies.

    • msgentile November 4, 2010 at 6:50 pm #

      WOW! I am curious to know what you said…tell me tomorrow and let me know if he replies…

  6. Caio November 4, 2010 at 5:40 pm #

    ms gentile I found Avijit on Facebook…I’ll give you the link to his page if you want it.

    • msgentile November 4, 2010 at 6:51 pm #

      Send me the link! It’s scary how good you guys are at stalking…this is like private investigation/FBI stuff. I don’t know if I should be scared or impressed??

      But, cool. Send the link 🙂

      • Helam November 4, 2010 at 7:00 pm #

        ahahaaaa!!! funny ms.G, thats like what we should do for a living! but anyways… I think your idea to go to India is such a great thing! I mean, it would be much more personal, it’s a great experience, and you don’t have to worry about the “middle men” or fundraisers that usually keep 95% of the money fundraised themselves.

      • Caio November 4, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

        http://www.facebook.com/avijithalder

  7. Analiese Barnes November 4, 2010 at 7:39 pm #

    I’m pretty sure Lady Gaga went to the same school the Avijit is going to. Just a little fun fact.

  8. carolyn November 4, 2010 at 7:57 pm #

    seems like avijit was the only one who was able to come to america..
    his fb:
    http://www.facebook.com/#!/avijithalder

  9. agron shahaj November 4, 2010 at 9:03 pm #

    MS.G i just want to be sure i go so i get the first spot lol

  10. crys shaughnessy November 9, 2010 at 8:56 pm #

    i found out that target offers so much money every year to a certain number of schools to fund feild trips and what not. that could be an option for us.

Leave a comment